The Musk Ox and the Moth

This scarf is knitted (not by me) in Qiviut – wool from Greenlandic musk ox – a gift my sister received from a friend of hers. It is extremely warm, soft and delicious.

A knitted qiviut lace scarf with moth holes! Photo by Lisa Risager

Even the moths found it delicious. I hate moths!

As soon as I saw it, I asked my sister to put it in a plastic bag, close it with a knot and throw it into the deep freezer to kill off any eggs.

I didn’t want to risk carrying moths into the home of myself, my family, my cats and my wool, did I?

I am going to try to repair the damage, even if it is knitted lace. I have found a ball of qiviut wool from Sisimiut in my stash, not an excact colour and weight match but it will have to do. It’s 3ply so I am going to untwine it and use a single strand.

A knitted qiviut lace scarf with moth holes! Photo by Lisa Risager

I don’t think I’ll be able to make invisible repairs but I hope that the end result will bring my sister good memories of the friend who knitted the scarf and the sister who repaired it.

No friendly thought to the moths, though….

Please, tell us what you think!